Setting Goals

I thought I was being smart by setting an achievable goal of 100 words a day in the previous post. It turns out I was wrong. Well, not really wrong, but selling myself short.

Recently read an article about how we need to stretch ourselves, so that we’ll grow. The point is not reaching the goal, but the process in reaching it. Whether we reach it or not, we would’ve grown and moved the story at a pace further than if I’d set a “safe” goal. Quoting the last two paragraphs:

Bottom line: do not set goals that you are certain you can achieve. Set goals that challenge you and work hard to meet them. You’ll never achieve greatness if you stay in a space of setting goals that you are guaranteed to meet.

As Michelangelo said, “The greater danger for most of us is not that our aim is too high and we miss it, but that it is too low and we hit it.” Dreaming big and thinking big are two necessary components to achieving greatness.

And so, a re-calibration of my goals:

Daily writing. Instead of 100 words a day, I’m gonna make it 500 words. Really push myself.

Let’s see if I can finish writing all the books I’ve planned. Hey, I might surprise myself and finish an extra one!

*fingers crossed*

Leave a Reply

